Deposit & Loan Applications

Deposit & Loan Applications
    • Coming soon!

Resource Center

About Us


The Organizers of 1st Trust Bank decided to establish the Bank because of their belief in the value of customer service. Prior to 2004, some Hazard banks have been acquired by regional multi-bank holding companies headquartered outside of Hazard. In many cases, these acquisitions and consolidations have been accompanied by fee changes, management and personnel changes, branch closings, and the dissolution of local boards of directors. This resulted in a decline in the level of personalized customer service. In the opinion of the Organizers, this situation created a favorable opportunity for a new commercial bank to attract those customers who prefer to conduct business with a locally managed institution that demonstrates an active interest in their businesses and personal financial affairs. It is believed that a locally managed institution will be better able to deliver more timely responses to customer requests, provide customized financial products and services, and offer the personal attention of its senior banking officers.

On June 2, 2004, the Organizers filed an application with the KOFI for permission to operate a state-chartered bank, as well as an application with the FDIC for deposit insurance for Bank deposits. On December 13, 2004 KOFI and the FDIC granted 1st Trust Bank their banking charter and insurance. A ribbon cutting ceremony was held Tuesday December 14, 2004, to announce the opening of the newest locally owned bank in Hazard, Kentucky.

Nearly seven years after opening in Hazard, 1st Trust Bank began construction in a new market, this time in London, KY.  On October 26, 2012 1st Trust Bank opened its doors not only to existing Laurel County customers, but to the thousands we plan to serve in the future.  Most recently, 1st Trust Bank has opened a Loan Production Office (LPO) in Richmond, KY.  1st Trust Bank is very excited to enter the Madison and surrounding county markets to further serve customers looking for a community bank experience and to be treated as a valued customer.

Directors & Advisors

Greg Wells Chairman of the Board
Ryan Duff Director / Vice Chairman
Melvin Clutts Director
Doug Henlsey Director
John Tate Director
Harry Watts, Jr. Director
William Fields Director
Jeffrey W. Hylton Director
Hugh T. Mitchell Director
Dee Caldwell Jr. Director
Roger E. Lewis Advisor to the Board
Max Mitchell Advisor to the Board
Tracy Fleming Secretary to the Board


Hugh T. Mitchell President/CEO
Roger E. Lewis Market President (London)
Max Mitchell Executive Vice President
Matt Phillips Vice President
Tracy Fleming Vice President
Lynn Oliver Vice President/ Lending Officer
Dan Reynolds  Vice President (Richmond)
Heather Queen Vice President / Mortgage
Vicki Fields Vice President / Lending Officer
Mary Knight Vice President/ Lending Officer
Matt Wingate  Vice President/ Lending Officer (Richmond) 
Whitney Day AVP / Loan Compliance
Carie Belile AVP / Customer Service Manager (London)
Alexandria Abner AVP / Customer Service Manager (Hazard)
Bryan Barger AVP / IT & Information Security Officer
Beverly Gibson AVP / Head Teller